The Dublin Agreement is a mechanism within the European Union that helps determine which country is responsible for processing the asylum application of a person belonging to a third country or a stateless person. The Dublin regime was originally introduced by the Dublin Convention, signed in Dublin (Ireland) on 15 June 1990 and came into force on 1 October 1997 for the first twelve signatories (Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and the United Kingdom), and on 1 January 1998 for Finland. [2] While the agreement was only open to accession by the Member States of the European Communities, Norway and Iceland, non-member countries, reached an agreement with the EC in 2001 on the application of the provisions of the Convention on their territory. [3] They will also apply to the UK during the transitional period of the withdrawal agreement, as most EU legal laws will continue to apply to the UK during this period, but this will end at the end of the year. We want a close partnership in the future to address the common challenges of asylum and illegal immigration. Section 17 of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018 obliges the government to negotiate an agreement with the EU allowing unaccompanied children of an asylum seeker in the EU to join family members legally residing in the UK, where it is in their best interest. This obligation applies regardless of whether we leave the EU with or without an agreement. The implementation of transfers is based on the replacement of an agreement and we are working to negotiate such an agreement as quickly as possible. The Dublin II Regulation was adopted in 2003 and replaced the Dublin Convention in all EU Member States, with the exception of Denmark, which is withdrawing the implementation of regulations in the area of freedom, security and justice. [1] In 2006, an agreement came into force with Denmark to extend the application of the regulation to Denmark. [4] A separate protocol also extended the Iceland-Norway agreement to Denmark in 2006. [5] On 1 March 2008, the provisions of the regulation were also extended by a treaty to third countries, Switzerland[6] which, on 5 June 2005, voted 54.6% in favour of their ratification, and Liechtenstein on 1 April 2011.

[8] More information here: But also note that the suspension (the 6-month period) is very problematic in itself and that some courts have found it illegal, because there is no basis for suspension because of pandemic in UNION law. Therefore, if the initial six-month period expires, it should seek the assistance of a lawyer and ask bamF to initiate its asylum proceedings here with Germany as a competent Member State, since the suspension was not legal and therefore was not applicable. A.S.: See a local council to find a solution. Your question implies that you have a residence permit, but not your wife and children. It is not entirely at the discretion of the public authorities to separate families. A.S.: It depends. Having a son already in Europe is, in certain circumstances, a reason for a visa or residence permit, but in general there is no need to obtain asylum. The Exception is Germany. If certain conditions are met, you can apply for asylum if expert Kay Hailbronner asked in April 2018, at a public meeting of the Civil Liberties Committee of the German Bundestag, for a future European asylum system and described the current state of the Dublin Regulation as dysfunctional.